Hays High’s Parker named WAC baseball Player of the Year; Leo Coach of the Year


Hays High had had four players named to the First Team of the All-Western Athletic Conference baseball team and two honorable mention picks. The group includes WAC Player of the Year Kade Parker and Coach of the Year Frank Leo who helped lead the Indians to a 13-8 record and another conference title.

Parker led the Indians with 26 hits and was second on the squad with a .400 batting average . On the mound Parker went 4-3 with one save. He had a team low 0.81 ERA in eight appearances (six starts), striking out 42 and walking just nine.

Parker is joined on the First Team by senior Layne Downing, sophomore Marcus Altman and sophomore Connor Rule. Cole Schumacher and Jared Haynes were named honorable mention.

Complete All-Western Athletic Conference team below…

Player of the Year:  Kade Parker-Hays
Coach of the Year:   Frank Leo- Hays

First Team
Kade Parker                                       Hays                            SR
Thomas Solorio                                  Garden City                SR
Austin Weiser                                    Dodge City                 SR
Layne Downing                                  Hays                            SR
Bryce Beck                                          Great Bend                 SR
Collin Ware                                        Liberal                         SR
Dawson Davis                                     Dodge City                 JR
Marcus Zapata                                   Garden City                JR
Marcus Altman                                  Hays                            SO
Jared Hasik                                         Liberal                         SO
Connor Rule                                       Hays                            SO
Bryce Unruh                                       Dodge City                 SO

Honorable Mention:
Hays: Cole Schumacher, Jared Haynes
Garden City: Mario Montoya
Liberal: Jared Fox
Great Bend: Shade Wondra, Dylan Reiser, Trystan Hall