Russell chief honored by emergency responder group

Don Boxberger, Russell and Ellsworth Counties Emergency Worker/911 Volunteer of the Year

Don Boxberger, left, 2014 Emergency Worker/Volunteer of the Year , Photo Courtesy of KSRL, Russell

RUSSELL — Ellsworth County Emergency Management and the Russell 911 Communications Advisory Board announced recently that Russell-Grant Fire Chief Don Boxberger has been named 2014 Emergency Worker/Volunteer of the Year.

“This individual has devoted his time, energy and talents to the fire service not only in the townships that he serves and for Russell County, but also in the region and the state of Kansas,” read the announcement. “He can always be relied on to respond at all hours of the day or night.”

Boxberger started as a volunteer and took over as chief in 1982, a position he still holds. He a 10-year member and past president on the Russell County Free Fair Board, an active member of the Russell Shrine Club and a member of the Russell Masonic Lodge and ISIS Shrine since 2002 and is a 2 time past Potentate of ISIS Shrine. In addition, Boxberger is a board member for the Kansas Shrine Bowl, where he serves as secretary.

“(Boxberger) shows the true spirit of a Volunteer, one who does for others without any strings attached,” the announcement said.

  • Full Time?

    I thought the Russell Fire Chief was a full time paid position?

  • Russell Resident

    Shane Preston is the fulltime Russell city fire chief. Don Boxberger is the Russell rural Grant district fire chief. By the way, the picture is from KRSL Radio in Russell. It was posted in earlier this week.

  • Full Time?

    Congrats…that is great!