Mason, first of 5 FHSU presidential candidates, will be introduced Monday

FHSU University Relations

The first of five candidates selected as presidential finalists for Fort Hays State University will meet with campus and community groups Monday and Tuesday.

Dr. Tisa A. Mason

Dr. Tisa A. Mason

The first finalist, Dr. Tisa A. Mason, serves as vice president for student affairs at FHSU and will be accompanied by her husband, Bill Mason.

Since July 2008, Dr. Mason has been responsible for the Division of Student Affairs at FHSU, serving as a member of the president’s executive leadership team, responsible for facilitating and coordinating recruitment, retention and graduation of students. Prior to her current appointment, Dr. Mason served as the dean of student life at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater (2004 to 2007) and as executive director of Sigma Kappa Sorority & Foundation in Indianapolis, Ind. (1994 to 2004), among other positions.

A native of Feeding Hills, Mass., she received her Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) from the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Va., a Master of Science in education from Eastern Illinois University, Charleston, and a Bachelor of Arts in sociology/anthropology from Transylvania University in Lexington, Ky. While pursing her doctorate, she was the recipient of the Armand J. and Mary Faust Galfo Education Research Award, given annually to the graduate student who has demonstrated outstanding promise in educational research and helpfulness to fellow students. She is also the recipient of multiple national awards, including the Association of Fraternity/Sorority Advisors’ Robert H. Shaffer Award and the Sue Kraft Fussell Distinguished Service Award as well as the National Society of Leadership and Success Excellence in Service to Students Award.

The community is invited and encouraged to meet the candidate for a reception at 4:30 p.m. Monday in the Stouffer Lounge, room 222, in the Memorial Union on the FHSU campus.

FHSU President Edward H. Hammond announced his retirement effective June 30, after serving the university since 1987. Shortly thereafter, the Kansas Board of Regents initiated the search process by selecting Denis Miller, Phillipsburg, chairman of the FHSU Foundation Board of Trustees, to chair the Presidential Search Committee. In December, the Regents selected the members of the search committee, comprising 19 individuals representing FHSU constituencies such as faculty, students, administration, staff, alumni, the Hays community and the Board of Regents.

“We are pleased with the number of outstanding candidates that have applied for the presidency at Fort Hays State University,” Miller said, “and we look forward to continuing the process that will lead to selection of a new president.”

The dates for the other four presidential finalists’ visits are as follows: March 27 and 28, April 1 and 2, April 7 and 8, and April 10 and 11. Details will be forthcoming.

For more information about the FHSU presidential search process, visit

The Search Committee will submit to the Board of Regents its candidate recommendations at the conclusion of the campus interviews. The Board anticipates naming the next Fort Hays State University president in late April.

LIKE Hays Post on Facebook.

  • Curious

    Who are some of the other candidates and where are they from?

  • guest

    Finalists are being released one at a time the day before their visit to the FHSU campus.