Kansas lawmakers look at helping home beer brewers
House members gave the bill first-round approval Friday on a voice vote, setting up a final vote Monday.
Kansas law permits home brewing if the product is consumed only by the brewer or the brewer’s family. Otherwise, a brewer must obtain a manufacturer’s license that can cost up to $5,000, plus a distributor’s license that can cost another $2,000.
The bill would allow home brewers to provide their products to judges and guests at a competition, provided that the brewer isn’t paid.
State Rep. and Palco Republican Travis Couture-Lovelady said the bill would encourage the development of craft breweries in Kansas.