KFIX Rock News: Deluxe Reissues Of Bob Dylan 30th Anniversary Concert Coming In March

dylanmain3On October 16, 1992, a jaw-dropping lineup of stars joined Bob Dylan at New York City’s Madison Square Garden to celebrate the 30th anniversary of the folk-rock legend’s self-titled debut album.

Now, deluxe expanded reissues of the album and video documenting the historic concert are set to hit stores on March 4.

Bob Dylan: The 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration — Deluxe Editionwill be sold in three configurations — as a two-CD set, a two-DVD collection and a Blu-ray disc.

Among the many famous artists who participated in the event were George Harrison, Eric Clapton, Neil Young, Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers, Ronnie Wood, Lou Reed, John Mellencamp, Roger McGuinn, Chrissie Hynde, The Band, Stevie Wonder, Johnny Cash, Richie Havens, Johnny Winter and Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder and Mike McCready.

The four-hour marathon performance, which Young dubbed “Bobfest,” featured the various stars singing a diverse selection of tunes from Dylan’s catalog, from classic hits to obscure gems.

Among the evening’s many highlights was a rendition of “My Back Pages” that saw Dylan, Harrison, Clapton, Young, Petty and McGuinn all performing together and a finale that featured the concert’s entire cast singing “I Shall Be Released.”

The show also boasted an impressive house band that included three members of Booker T. and the M.G.’s, guitarist G.E. Smith and renowned session drummers Jim Keltner and Anton Fig.

The DVD set and Blu-ray will feature 40 minutes of previously unreleased bonus footage, including rehearsal performances, behind-the-scenes clips and interviews.

The CD package will offer two unreleased songs recorded during the show’s sound check, Clapton’s rendition of “Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright” and Sinead O’Connor’s performance of “I Believe in You.”

Here is the full list of songs featured on the Bob Dylan: The 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration — Deluxe Edition releases:

“Like a Rolling Stone” — John Mellencamp
“Blowin’ in the Wind” — Stevie Wonder
“Foot of Pride” — Lou Reed
“Masters of War” — Eddie Vedder/Mike McCready
“The Times They Are A-Changin’” — Tracy Chapman
“It Ain’t Me Babe” — June Carter Cash/Johnny Cash
“What Was It You Wanted” — Willie Nelson
“I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight” — Kris Kristofferson
“Highway 61 Revisited” — Johnny Winter
“Seven Days” — Ronnie Wood
“Just Like a Woman” — Richie Havens
“When the Ship Comes In” — The Clancy Brothers and Robbie O’Connell with special guest Tommy Makem
“War” — Sinead O’Connor
“Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues” — Neil Young
“All Along the Watchtower” — Neil Young
“I Shall Be Released” — Chrissie Hynde
*”Love Minus Zero, No Limit” — Eric Clapton
“Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright” — Eric Clapton
“Emotionally Yours” — The O’Jays
“When I Paint My Masterpiece” — The Band
“You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere” — Mary Chapin Carpenter/Rosanne Cash/Shawn Colvin
“Absolutely Sweet Marie” — George Harrison
“License to Kill” — Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
“Rainy Day Women #12 & 35″ — Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
“Mr. Tambourine Man” — Roger McGuinn
“It’s Alright, Ma” — Bob Dylan
“My Back Pages” — Bob Dylan/Roger McGuinn/Tom Petty/Neil Young/Eric Clapton/George Harrison
“Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door” — Everyone
“Girl of the North Country” — Bob Dylan

DVD Bonus Tracks:
“Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat” — John Mellencamp
“Boots of Spanish Leather” — Nancy Griffith with Carolyn Hester
“Gotta Serve Somebody” — Booker T. & the M.G.’s

CD Audio Bonus Tracks:
“I Believe in You” — Sinead O’Connor
“Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright” — Eric Clapton

* = Track Only Available on DVD & Blu-Ray.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

“Like” KFIX on Facebook.

Commenting Disclaimer
  • Be respectful. 
  • Do not use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Do not make accusations or personal attacks
  • Comments considered to be 'trolling' or for the sole purpose of angering others will be removed.