New KSHSAA Classifications Released; HHS Dropping to 4A Division I in Football in 2014

KSHSAA LogoThe Kansas State High School Activities Association is out with classifications and starting next season Hays High will drop to 4A Division I in football only starting next year. They will remain in Class 5A for all activities this year but have the smallest 5A enrollment at 737 students grades nine through 12.

Other school’s dropping down in football for next season include Phillipsburg (3A) which is moving to 2-1A. Ellinwood (2-1A) will now play in 8-Man Division I as will Oberlin-Decator County (2-1A) and St. Francis (2-1A), Hoxie (8-I) drops to 8-Man Division II.

Stockton (8-II) moves up to 8-Man Division I as does Logan/Palco (8-II).

new Football Classifications

Several area schools will be changing classifications which take effect immediately for all activities include Russell and Scott City moving up from 3A to 4A. Atwood-Rawlins County, Kinsley, St. John-Hudson and WaKeeney-Trego all move up from 1A to 2A. Lincoln (2A) drops to 1A.

New School Classifications