|

State’s “Hard 50″ Bill Update

4 p.m.  AP) — Gov. Sam Brownback has signed legislation revising the Kansas law allowing convicted murderers to be sentenced to at least 50 years in prison.

Lawmakers approved the measure this week during a two-day special session. Brownback signed it Friday and delivered it to the secretary of state’s office.

The law will take effect Sept. 12 when it is printed in the Kansas register, the state’s official digest for legal notices, which is published each Thursday.

The measure provides for juries rather than judges to determine whether a defendant convicted of premeditated, first-degree murder gets the “Hard 50″ sentence.

Kansas judges have traditionally made the decision, but the U.S. Supreme Court ruled earlier this year in a Virginia case that juries must do so.

 

(AP) — Changes in the Kansas law allowing convicted murderers to be sentenced to at least 50 years in prison are likely to take effect by Sept. 19.

Brownback

A bill making the changes says they take effect upon being printed in the Kansas register, the state’s official digest for legal notices, which is published each Thursday. Lawmakers approved the measure during this week’s two-day special session.

Under the bill, juries will determine whether a defendant convicted of premeditated, first-degree murder gets the “Hard 50″ sentence. Judges have handled the task, but a U.S. Supreme Court decision in June said juries must.

The Kansas House expects to deliver the bill Monday to Gov. Sam Brownback.

He has 10 days to act, but spokeswoman Eileen Hawley says he’ll sign it as quickly as possible.

 

KSKollection
Commenting Disclaimer
  • Be respectful. 
  • Do not use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Do not make accusations or personal attacks
  • Comments considered to be 'trolling' or for the sole purpose of angering others will be removed.

Recent Comments

No Recent Comments Found