All Jayhawk League Selections Announced

Larks LogoAfter winning the Jayhawk League with a 23-10 record and finishing 35-13 overall the Hays Larks had seven First-team All Jayhawk League selections.

Clayton Garland was named the league’s Most Valuable Player and Chandler Hawkins was named the Most Outstanding Pitcher.

Garland, a Senior at Fort Hays State, finished the season hitting .352 with 5 home runs, 38 RBI’s and 29 runs scored.

Hawkins was 7-2 on the summer with a 2.11 ERA and 69 strikeouts in 64 innings. Hawkins allowed just 18 runs, 15 of those were earned and he walked just 19 batters.

Hawkins and Nick Goza were both First-team starting pitcher selections and relief pitcher David Owen was also a First-team pick. Garland and Aaron Cornell were both First-team outfield selections. Tyler Gilmore was a First-team selection at third base and Jake Placzek was a First-team utility player selection.

Catcher Taylor Peterson, second basemen Zair Koeiman and relief pitcher Ian Bentley was all selected to the Second-team.