Hays woman named chair of Huck Boyd Institute Board

The Huck Boyd National Institute for Rural Development has elected new officers and chosen two new members of its board of directors. In addition, U.S. Senators

Claire Gustin

Claire Gustin

Pat Roberts and Jerry Moran have agreed to join former senator Nancy Kassebaum Baker as honorary co-chairs of the board.

Clare Gustin, vice president of member services and external affairs at Sunflower Electric Power Corp. in Hays, is the new chair of the Huck Boyd Institute board of directors. Mike James, city council member and owner of OdorZWay in Phillipsburg, is the new vice chair.

New members of the board are Dan Caffrey, chief financial officer at Landoll Corp. of Marysville, and Sheila Frahm of Colby. Frahm is a former U.S. senator and Kansas lieutenant governor and most recently was executive director of the Kansas Association of Community College Trustees. Doug Brush of Brush Art in Downs was re-elected to the board.

“We are very pleased that all of these distinguished Kansans are willing to serve,” said outgoing board chair Renee Shaw. Shaw and Don Landoll will remain on the board as past board chairs.

Other board members, including past board chairs, include Kyle Bauer of Clay Center, Joe Berkely of Dodge City, Anne Brockhoff of Linwood, Daryl Buchholz of Manhattan, Nelson Galle of Manhattan, Tom Hemmer of Solomon, Robin Jennison of Topeka, Cy Moyer of Phillipsburg, Doyle Rahjes of Agra, Dale Rodman of Topeka, and Kirk Schulz of Manhattan.

The Huck Boyd Institute www.huckboyd.ksu.edu is a public/private partnership between K-State Research and Extension and the Huck Boyd Foundation. The foundation office is at the Huck Boyd Community Center in Phillipsburg. The institute office is at Kansas State University in Manhattan.

  • ZMan

    Congrats, Clare!!!