KFIX Rock News: Queen Drummer To Release New Solo Album

taylorin2Queen drummer Roger Taylor has unveiled some new information about his upcoming fifth solo album, Fun on Earth.  The record will be released sometime in October and will feature 13 tracks.

Among the new songs is “Say It’s Not True,” which features guitar work by fellow Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Jeff Beck.

Another version of this same tune was featured on the 2008 Queen + Paul Rodgers album, The Cosmos Rocks.

Other tracks on Fun on Earth include “Woman You’re So Beautiful,” “Be with You,” “One Night Stand” and “I Am the Drummer (in a Rock n’ Roll Band).”

Taylor spoke a little about the new album in a new interview with U.K. magazine Classic Rock.  “It’s been written over a five year period, so it’s very eclectic,” he said.  “Some gentle stuff, some rockier stuff and some fairly political stuff.”

Coinciding with the arrival of Fun on Earth, Taylor will put out a compilation called The Lot, which gathers together all of his previous solo releases as well as the material he recorded with his one-time side group The Cross.

The retrospective will be available as a limited collector’s edition as well as a digital download.  Full details about Fun on Earth and The Lot will be announced soon.

Meanwhile, Taylor will be participating in a one-off reunion with The Cross’ original lineup on December 7 in Guildford, England.

The performance, which celebrates the 20th anniversary of the last time the group played together, will take place as part of Queen sideman/ex-Cross member Spike Edney’s annual Christmas concert.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

“Like” KFIX on Facebook.

Commenting Disclaimer
  • Be respectful. 
  • Do not use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Do not make accusations or personal attacks
  • Comments considered to be 'trolling' or for the sole purpose of angering others will be removed.