Eagles Win Again At State Tourney

Hays 16 Finney County 4 (8 innings)
The Hays Eagles and Pittsburg are the only remaining undefeated teams at the American Legion AAA State Tournament.

After a run-away win on Wednesday night, Hays trailed Finney County 2-0 after the first inning.  The Blues had only one hit, but took advantage of an Eagle error and walk to plate two runs.

Hays responded by scoring run in each of the next five innings to take a 11-4 lead after six innings, before ending the game one inning early 16-4.  The Eagles took the lead for good with a Chandler Rule RBI single in the top of the third inning.  Rule finished the night 5-6, scoring three runs and knocking two more in.  Rule led the 19 hit attack that left the Eagles as one of two remaining teams to be undefeated in the tournament.  Layne Downing and John Griffth each had three hits.

Kade Parker (5-2) threw a complete game four hitter, walking three and striking out nine.  After allowing two runs in the bottom of the first inning, Parker retired 13 consecutive batters.

Postgame: Coach Brad Kelly

Pittsburg 8 Arkansas City 5
Pittsburg and Hays will face off as the final two undefeated teams in the state tournament for a second consecutive year.

Pittsburg landed their bid into the game scoring three in the bottom of the sixth inning to take their first lead of the game.  Nate Grimaldi scored four runs for Pittsburg and Nicholas Cage picked up the win.  Arkansas City had their chance in the top of the ninth inning though.  With two outs Ark City drew two walks and had the tying run at the plate before Luke Marquardt came in to face one batter and earn the save.

Elimination games

Newton 6 Salina 3
Keil Stauffer pitched a complete nine inning game for Newton to keep their state tournament alive.  Newton was held to just six hits, but Gunnar Drinnen was able to score twice to lead the Knights to the victory.

Emporia 8 Leavenworth 5
Emporia staved off elimination by collecting 14 hits  against Leavenworth.  Braxton Marstall and Brady Baumgardner each scored two runs in the victory.  Tanner Boucher picked up the win.  Issac Hall earned the save.