FHSU’s Johnson Named All-MIAA; Five Receive Honorable Mention Honors

Fort Hays State had one First-Team selection and five honorable mention picks on the All-MIAA baseball team released Thursday. Designated hitter Horace Johnson was named to the First-Team after hitting .336 with nine double, nine home runs and 36 runs batted in.

Outfielder Jordan Miller and Clayton Garland were honorable mention picks along with second baseman Chris Santoscoy and starting pitcher Tayler Davis. Ryan Busboom, an All-American a year ago, is an honorable mention pick as a Utility Player.

Below is a list of the All-MIAA First and Second Teams…

Player of the Year: Michael Schulze, SS, Missouri Western
Pitcher of the Year: Brandon Simmons, P, Missouri Western
Freshman of the Year: Anthony Pacheco, OF, Nebraska-Kearney
Coach of the Year: Buzz Verduzco, Missouri Western

First Team 
Starting Pitcher: Edgar Lopez, Sr., Central Oklahoma
Starting Pitcher: Matt Stalcup, Sr., Pittsburg State
Starting Pitcher: Brandon Simmons, Sr., Missouri Western
Relief Pitcher: Andrew Urban, Sr., Central Missouri
Catcher: Chase Graskewicz, Sr., Central Missouri
First Base: Mike Failoni, Jr., Lindenwood**
Second Base: Jimmy Smelcer, Sr., Missouri Western
Shortstop: Michael Schulze, Jr., Missouri Western**
Third Base: Grant Fink, Sr., Missouri Western**
Outfield: Cody Robinson, Jr., Northeastern State
Outfield: Kevin Gratza, Jr., Central Missouri
Outfield: Bubba Dotson, Sr., Missouri Western
Designated Hitter: Horace Johnson, Jr., Fort Hays State 
Utility: Brian Wuest, Sr., Nebraska-Kearney
**= Unanimous Selection

Second Team 
Starting Pitcher: Travis Higgs, Jr., Central Missouri
Starting Pitcher: Dakota McKaskle, Jr., Emporia State
Starting Pitcher: Brett Abell, Sr., Missouri Southern
Relief Pitcher: Trevor Walch, Sr., Northeastern State
Catcher: Sam Ryan, Sr., Missouri Southern
First Base: John Oropeza, Sr., Central Missouri
Second Base: Michael McCoy, Sr., Missouri Southern
Shortstop: Samuel Domingue, Sr., Central Missouri
Third Base: Eric Dawson, Sr., Emporia State
Outfield: Aaron Rea, Sr., Emporia State
Outfield: Kyle Simpson, Sr., Missouri Western
Outfield: Ryan Abernathy, Jr., Northwest Missouri
Designated Hitter: Eric McGlauflin, Jr., Northwest Missouri
Utility: Kyle Grieshaber, Sr., Central Missouri

FHSU Honorable Mention
Starting Pitcher – Tayler Davis
Second Base – Chris Santoscoy
Outfield – Clayton Garland, Jordan Miller
Utility – Ryan Busboom