Kansas Libertarian Party Elects New Officers

libertarian party logoThe Libertarian Party of Kansas (LPKS) held the state party’s convention, April 20, on the campus of Emporia State University. Party members from around the Sunflower State gathered to discuss business, recent election result trends, legislative initiatives, future strategy, and the accelerating growth of the party, says LPKS chairman Al Terwelp.

Business included electing executive committee officers to two-year terms. The newly elected LPKS officers are: Chairman- Al Terwelp of Overbrook, Vice-Chairman- Rob Hodgkinson, Stilwell;  Treasurer-Michael Ogle, Topeka; Secretary-Mike Kerner, Lenexa; and four Kansas District Coordinators; District 1-Barry Albin, Council Grove; District 2-Robert Garrard, Edgerton; District 3-Jeff Caldwell, Overland Park; and District 4-Steve Rosile, Wichita.

Awards for volunteers were also given. Receiving awards for Most Impactful volunteers (the Seth and Maike Warren Awards) were Earl McIntosh and Sharon DuBois of Topeka.  The Light of Liberty award for most substantial non-member partner in the work of liberty was given to attorney Lucas Thompson also of Topeka.

According to Terwelp, the LPKS   (www.lpks.org) headquartered in Wichita, has experienced seven consecutive years of registered voter growth including approximately 13% growth in the last 18 months.  Additionally, 2012 saw record high Libertarian vote totals, says Terwelp, and many new county groups forming across the state.


  • http://www.libertarianinternational.org Rob

    Thanks for the article. For info on people using voluntary Libertarian tools on similar and other issues worldwide, please see the non-partisan Libertarian International Organization @ http://www.Libertarian-International.org ….