100 Years of Protecting Kansans

state fire marshal. 100 yearsThe Office of the State Fire Marshal in Kansas is 100 years old.

March 10, 1913, the Kansas Legislature passed the bill creating the Office of the State Fire Marshal, which was signed by Governor George Hodges.

Friday, March 22, 2013, Governor Sam Brownback signed a Proclamation recognizing 100 Years of Service of the OSFM, which to this day has been dedicated to protecting the lives and property of Kansans from fire, explosions and accidents involving hazardous chemicals.

Those attending the signing ceremony were the current Fire Marshal, Doug Jorgensen, plus four former Fire Marshals: Ed Redmon (1977 – 1988, 1992 – 1995), Jack Alexander (2004 – 2007), Dan McLaughlin (2007), and Terry Maple (2011-2012).

The OSFM will celebrate its 100th anniversary with a reception and open house April 4 in Topeka.