Five File for Three Hays City Commission Seats

hays-logo1Five residents have filed to run for three open seats on the Hays City Commission.  The filing deadline was today at noon.

Those running for election are:

Shaun Musil

Dominic Pianalto

Eber Phelps

Todd Gabel

Ron Mellick

Three Hays City Commission positions will expire in April–Ron Mellick, Troy Hickman and Eber Phelps, who was appointed to fill the vacancy created after Barbara Wasinger was elected to the Ellis County Commission.

The general election is Tuesday, April 2.  According to City Clerk Doris Wing, the two candidates who receive th4e most votes will receive four-year terms. The third highest vote-getter will serve a two-year term.

The new commissioners will  take office and be sworn in at the April 11 Hays City Commission meeting.