Kansas Ag Producers Eligible for Disaster Assistance

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) designated 88 Kansas counties as primary disaster areas and 16 Kansas counties and contiguous disaster areas, making qualified farmers and ranchers in designated counties eligible for low-interest emergency loans through the USDA Farm Service Agency.

Doniphan County in far Northeast Kansas is the only Kansas county that did not receive a federal disaster declaration.

“We are entering the third consecutive year of a severe drought,” Governor Sam Brownback said.

In order to receive a federal disaster declaration, a county must show a drought intensity value of at least D2 (Drought Severe) for eight consecutive weeks based on measurements by the U.S. Drought Monitor. Nationwide, USDA declared 597 counties in 14 states as primary disaster areas.

Brownback will meet with the Kansas Drought Response Team Friday to receive updates from key state and federal leaders on the increasing toll the drought is taking on Kansas.