MIAA Announces 2011 All-Conference Football Team (FHSU’s Whitehill, Kosjer 1st Team)

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Washburn’s Dane Simoneau (offense), Pittsburg State’s Nate Dreiling (defense) and Missouri Western’s Greg Zuerlein (special teams) were named MIAA Players of the Year to headline the all-conference team released by the league office Tuesday. The selections were made by the league’s 10 head coaches, and coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

Simoneau was selected as the MIAA Offensive Player of the Year after tying for the league lead with 34 touchdown passes. The senior from Salina, Kan., finished second in the league in passing yards (3,449), passing efficiency (155.1) and total offense (3,440 yards). He ranks third all-time in MIAA career passing yards with 10,651, and is also third in MIAA career total offense with 10,526 yards. Simoneau was an All-MIAA First Team selection as well.

Dreiling was named the MIAA Defensive Player of the Year after a season in which he finished third in the league in both tackles (93) and interceptions (five), and tied for fifth in the conference in both passes defended (nine) and fumbles recovered (two). The sophomore from Hutchinson, Kan., was also a unanimous All-MIAA First Team selection.

Zuerlein is the unanimous MIAA Special Teams Player of the Year after leading the conference in field goals made (20) and field goal percentage (95.2). The senior from Lincoln, Neb., led all MIAA kickers with a 10.7 points per game scoring average. He is currently on a streak in which he has made 18 consecutive field goals, an MIAA record. For the year, he is a perfect 5-for-5 from 30-39 yards, 3-for-3 between 40-49 yards and 6-for-6 from 50+ yards, including a 58-yarder. Zuerlein was a unanimous pick for All-MIAA First Team as well.

Northwest Missouri defensive back Bryce Enyard was voted the MIAA Freshman of the Year after finishing second in the league with six interceptions, including one returned 59 yards for a touchdown. The Huntsville, Mo., product was also selected All-MIAA Second Team.

Pittsburg State head coach Tim Beck was the unanimous pick for MIAA Coach of the Year after leading the Gorillas to the 2011 MIAA Championship, their first league title since 2004 and 11th MIAA crown since joining the conference in 1989. It is the first conference coach of the year honor for Beck, who is in his second season as Pittsburg State head coach.

Missouri Western had the most first team selections with five, followed by Pittsburg State and Central Missouri with four apiece, Missouri Southern, Northwest Missouri and Washburn with three each, Fort Hays State with two and Emporia State with one.

Dane Simoneau, Sr., QB, Washburn 

Nate Dreiling, So., LB, Pittsburg State

Greg Zuerlein, Sr., K, Missouri Western

Bryce Enyard, DB, Northwest Missouri

Tim Beck, Pittsburg State

QB: Dane Simoneau, Sr., Washburn
RB: Michael Hill, Jr., Missouri Western
RB: Justin Cooper, Sr., Washburn
WR: Landon Zerkel, Jr., Missouri Southern
WR: Jamar Howard, Sr., Central Missouri
TE: David Cannon, Jr., Central Missouri
OL: Macon Allan, Jr., Missouri Western
OL: Cody Johnson, Sr., Northwest Missouri
OL: Brian Folkerts, Sr., Washburn [r1]
OL: Logan Freeman, Jr., Central Missouri
OL: Ian Saxton, Sr., Missouri Southern
K: Greg Zuerlein, Sr., Missouri Western**
KR/PR: John Brown, So., Pittsburg State

**Unanimous Selection
[r1] – Repeat first team selection from last season

DL: Brandon Williams, Jr., Missouri Southern** [r1]
DL: Josh Lorenson, Sr., Northwest Missouri** [r1]
DL: David Bass, Jr., Missouri Western
DL: Gus Toca, Jr., Pittsburg State
LB: Chad Kilgore, Sr., Northwest Missouri** [r1][r1]
LB: Nate Dreiling, So., Pittsburg State**
LB: Alex Whitehill, Sr., Fort Hays State
DB: Marlon Douglas, Sr., Central Missouri [r1]
DB: Derek Lohmann, Jr., Emporia State
DB: Elijah Olabode, Sr., Pittsburg State
DB: Shane Simpson, Jr., Missouri Western
P: Ethan Kosjer, Sr., Fort Hays State

**Unanimous Selection
[r1] – Repeat first team selection from last season
[r1][r1] – Repeat first team selection from the last two seasons

QB: Zac Dickey, Sr., Pittsburg State
RB: James Franklin, So., Northwest Missouri
RB: Jordan Simmons, Jr., Northwest Missouri
WR: John Brown, So., Pittsburg State
WR: DeJuan Beard, So., Washburn
TE: Kyle Kilgore, Sr., Northwest Missouri
OL: Cody Holland, So., Pittsburg State
OL: Kell Smalley, Sr., Pittsburg State
OL: Rod Williams, Jr., Northwest Missouri
OL: Lance Uhles, Jr., Emporia State
OL: John “Hawk” Rouse, Jr., Fort Hays State
K: Todd Adolf, Jr., Northwest Missouri
KR/PR: Jordan Simmons, Jr., Northwest Missouri

DL: Dakota Palan-Johnson, Sr., Washburn
DL: Spencer Worthington, Sr., Pittsburg State
DL: Ben Pister, Jr., Missouri Western
DL: Kenny Smith, Jr., Missouri Southern
LB: Bryce Atagi, So., Washburn
LB: Jahmil Taylor, Jr., Washburn
LB: Luke Stringer, Sr., Pittsburg State
DB: Richie Schumacher, Jr., Truman
DB: Casey Curran, Sr., Washburn
DB: Marty Pfannenstiel, Sr., Washburn
DB: Jack Long, Sr., Missouri Western
DB: Bryce Enyard, Fr., Northwest Missouri
P: Eric Phillips, Jr., Truman

[Note: Ties in voting created an additional spot at DB]

Central Missouri: Tommy Corwin, Sr., QB; David Bax, Jr., DL; Patrick Lewis, Jr., DB; Aaron Jamieson, Jr., K; Matt Jordan, Jr., P; Taylor Dyer, Sr., WR

Emporia State: LaDarrian Page, Sr., RB; Shjuan Richardson, Jr., WR; Adam Schiltz, Jr., TE; Kennedy Ezimako, Sr., DL; Ben Carlson, Jr., LB; Tyler Eckenrode, Jr., QB

Fort Hays State: Andre Smith, Jr., RB; Casey Sorrell, Sr., OL; Kyle Perry, Jr., DL; Korey Allison, Sr., DB; Kedron Paul, Jr., DB; Lamar Leon, Sr., OL

Lincoln: Corderious Gregory, Sr., WR; O’Hara Fluellen, Sr., DB; Justin Campbell, So., OL; Vonques Knox, Fr., DL; Fred Fuller, Jr., KR/PR

Missouri Southern: Ne’Ronte Threatt, Jr., WR/KR/PR; Austin Lepper, So., TE; Brian Rodgers, Jr., DB; Ryon Phillips, Fr., DL; Collin Howard, Sr., QB; Alex Wong, Jr., LB

Missouri Western: Travis Partridge, So., QB; Tarrell Downing, Jr., WR/KR/PR; Colt Schulte, Jr., OL; Brian Chiles, Jr., OL; Austin Baska, So., DL; Tom Madget, Sr., LB; Jeremy Weston, Jr., DB; Ben Jackson, Jr., DB; Scott Groner, So., P

Northwest Missouri: Tyler Shaw, Jr., WR; Jake Soy, Sr., WR; David Mosley, Sr., WR; Taylor Pierce, Sr., WR; Aaron Terry, Sr., DL; Blake Christopher, Sr., QB

Pittsburg State: Nick Pugh, Jr., OL: J.R. Jones, Sr., DL; Jon Thomas, Sr., WR; Briceton Wilson, Jr., RB; Chase McCoy, Sr., K; Chas Smith, Jr., S

Truman: Anthony Brown, Sr., WR; Blake Holland, Jr., OL; Patrick Blackwell, Jr., DL; Wade Pelc, Jr., LB; Derek Koon, So., K; Dallas Grier, So., WR

Washburn: Gregory Schoenberg, Sr., FB; Tore’ Hurst, So., TE; Kyle Duncan, So., OL; Jayveri Kelly, Jr., DL; Steve Dieckhaus, Jr., OL; Ian Williams, Sr., DL

– MIAA Media Relations –